Solar Atmospheres’ Roger A. Jones named 2018 ASM Fellow


Solar Atmospheres’ CEO Roger A. Jones was awarded the distinguished honor of ASM Fellow (FASM) at the ASM awards dinner held recently at the MS&T18 Conference in Columbus, Ohio.

According to ASM, “The honor of Fellow represents recognition of distinguished contributions in the field of materials science and engineering, and develops a broadly based forum for technical and professional leaders to serve as advisors to the Society.” Jones’ citation reads: “For advancing production vacuum thermal processes and procedures for large and heavy assemblies utilizing state of the art vacuum furnaces, for the enhancement of the overall heat treating industry.”

On becoming FASM, Jones said, “I am extremely honored to receive this most prestigious ASM award. This highest award in the field of materials science signifies the culmination of my 45 year vacuum heat treating career. I would like to thank ASM, my colleagues who recommended me and my family for all of their support over the years. I am so proud to be inducted into the ASM 2018 Class of Fellows.”

Jones is a 35-year member of ASM International and a current member of the ASM International Board of Trustees and ASM International Finance and Investment Committee. At the ASM International level, Jones chaired and served on numerous committees. He chaired the Membership Committee from 1996-1997. He chaired the Heat-Treating Society (HTS) Immediate Needs Committee, as well as the HTS Education Committee; he was a founding member of HTS in August 1994. Jones served on the nominating committee for two separate terms, 1997 and 2001.

Jones has been a member of ASM Philadelphia “Liberty Bell” Chapter since 1983 and has chaired nine committees. He became his company’s sustaining member representative in 1986. Jones was Philadelphia Chapter chairman from 1993 to 1994. Also, he was an instructor for the chapter sponsored MEI courses and he continues to support the local chapter in numerous ways.

He has received the ASM International 2015 George H. Bodeen Heat Treating Achievement Award, and the following ASM Philadelphia Chapter awards: Young Member Award (1989), Delaware Valley Materials Person of the Year (1998), William Hunt Eisenman Award (2001), Distinguished Service Award (2004), President’s Award (2009), Meritorious Service (2012), and the Adolf Schaefer Special Achievement Award (2015).